At Aranmore Catholic College, the Humanities and Social Sciences Learning Area develops students’ understandings of how and why individuals and groups live together; interact with and within their environment; manage resources; and create institutions and systems. Students further understand that, over time, these relationships and interactions may change to varying degrees.

The ultimate intention is that students develop a more sophisticated understanding of their society and environment and are able to relate this to their personal lives. 

Students are encouraged to develop environmental consciousness, social competence and civic responsibility. In doing so they are engaged in actively exploring, making sense of and contributing to improving the world around them.

The skills, behaviours and attributes that students need to succeed in life and work in the twenty-first century have been identified in the Australian Curriculum as general capabilities. There are seven general capabilities:

  • literacy 
  • numeracy 
  • competence in information and communication technology (ICT) 
  • critical and creative thinking 
  • ethical behaviour 
  • personal and social competence 
  • intercultural understanding

There are three cross curriculum priorities in the Australian Curriculum:

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures 
  • Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia 
  • Sustainability

The general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities are embedded in the Humanities and Social Sciences Learning Area Curriculum. Over the course of their schooling, students will be provided with sufficient opportunities to develop and apply these. Subjects that embed these priorities include History, Economics, Geography, Civics & Citizenship, and Accounting and Finance.

From Address: